Manchester Children's Book Festival Reporters' Blog

Interview, research, review, write, publish

EXCLUSIVE: Interview with Jacqueline Wilson

DAME Jacqueline Wilson is one of today’s most successful and well-loved children’s writers. Her work is cherished across the world and she has sold more than 30 million copies of her books in the UK alone. She is the author of Hetty Feather, The Story of Tracy Beaker and her new book is The Worst Thing About My Sister.

How old were you when you started your career?

I had my first story published when I was 17.

When you were young what did you want to be?

I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was six years old

What inspired you to be what you are today?

I don’t think a particular person inspired me – I just knew I wanted to write books.

What has been the proudest moment of your career?

I love it when a child says they always thought reading was boring until they read one of my books – and now they’ve turned into real bookworms.  It makes me feel very pleased and proud.

In your opinion, who is the most inspiring person that you have met?

Gareth Malone.  I’d love to join one of his choirs – even though I can’t sing in tune.

Who did you see as a role model when you were young?

I don’t think I had anyone as a particular role model.  I liked the sound of Charlotte Bronte because she was little and poor and plain and yet had become a world famous writer.

What has been the scariest moment in your career?

When one of my books got rejected by a publisher.

If you weren’t what you are today what would you be?

I’d love to have my own bookshop.

What do you do in your spare time?

I read.  I swim.  I shop.  I go to art galleries.  I go for long walks.

Have you got any unusual talents?

I’m quite good at dancing.

Have you ever had any pets?

I have two beautiful cats, a grey and white cat called Jacob and a little black cat called Thomas.

What is your favourite music?

I like all sorts – I used to be a huge fan of Queen.

What has been your most embarrassing moment?

Falling flat on my face at a posh dance.

What do you think will be the best thing about 2012?

For me, it will be completing my third book about Hetty Feather, Emerald Star.

What is the weirdest thing about you?

I can usually tell the time without looking at a watch!

  • Jacqueline Wilson will be at the Manchester Children’s Book Festival on Tuesday, July 3, at 6.30pm at MMU’s Geoffrey Manton Building. For more information and to buy tickets click here.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2012 by .
