Manchester Children's Book Festival Reporters' Blog

Interview, research, review, write, publish

EXCLUSIVE: Interview with Kate Fox

KATE Fox is a poet, comedian and writer who performs funny, quirky poetry using pop music and news stories.

How old were you when you started your career?

Thirty when I started making a full time living as a performance poet – I’d started doing some work in the three years before.

When you were young what did you want to be?

First a check out girl, then a newsreader, then Prime Minister – then eventually a performance poet! I’ve been a newsreader and performance poet – not yet managed check out girl or Prime Minister!

What inspired you to be what you are today?

I love playing with words and speaking words in front of nice people who laugh.

What has been the proudest moment of your career?

Winning the Andrew Waterhouse Award from New Writing North in 2006: £3000 and recognition as a promising poet.

In your opinion, who is the most inspiring person that you have met?

I’ve personally been most inspired by the performance artists Bobby Baker and Bill Drummond I met whilst I was doing poems on Radio 4. They’re both individual and true to their unique, quirky creativity.

Who did you see as a role model when you were young?

I learned early on not to trust role models…

What has been the scariest moment in your career?

Doing a poem live on BBC1 whilst I was seven miles into the Great North Run

If you weren’t what you are today what would you be?

Maybe still a radio journalist. If I could sing I’d be a singer. If I could withstand more insecurity I’d be an actor and if I could put up with more vitriol I’d be a politician.

What do you do in your spare time?

Read, eat, walk, watch telly and films. A fairly quiet life.

Have you got any unusual talents?

Rhyming

Have you ever had any pets?

I’d love a dog but our landlady won’t let us. I have to stalk other people’s pets instead.

What is your favourite music?

Leonard Cohen and The Divine Comedy. Music that combines melody, humour and misery.

What has been your most embarrassing moment?

Dying badly whilst doing stand up comedy. (Bridlington leaps to mind).

What do you think will be the best thing about 2012?

If the world doesn’t end.

What is the weirdest thing about you?

My two webbed toes.

  • Kate Fox will be at the Manchester Children’s Book Festival on Tuesday, July 3, at the Moss Side Powerhouse Museum, at 1pm. For information and to buy tickets click here.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2012 by .

Navigation

